5-Diamond Patient Safety Program

Program Overview

Quality Insights Renal Network 4 believes it is important for each dialysis facility to incorporate patient safety into its organizational culture. To help promote patient safety values, Quality Insights has implemented the 5-Diamond Patient Safety Program. The goal of this program is to help dialysis facilities better implement patient safety principles among both staff and patients.

This interactive program consists of 15 modules to choose from.  It is designed so that each dialysis facility that completes one (1) module and submits documentation (i.e., Project Reporting Form) about how it implemented the module and the outcome(s) achieved, along with any required supporting documentation, to MARC receives one (1) "Diamond."* A maximum of 5 Diamonds may be awarded to a facility within the program period.

Facilities that achieved 5-Diamond status during the last program year, may renew Diamond status by re-applying, repeating the mandatory Patient Safety Principles module, and completing two (2) additional modules of their choosing.  Quality Insights is continuing the 5 Diamond Program, which was launched by the Mid Atlantic Renal Coalition (MARC) in 2008.

This program is endorsed by the American Nephrology Nurses' Association (ANNA), the Renal Physicians Association (RPA), and the Renal Healthcare Association (RHA).

Endorsed by

rpa-logo-1     anna logo     rhalogo-1


Visit the 5-Diamond Patient Safety Program